AEESP to Honor Schnoor, Parkin

Two College of Engineering faculty members will be honored June 13-16 at the Association of Environmental Science and Engineering & Science Professors (AEESP) Research and Education Conference at Yale University.

Jerry Schnoor, holder of the Allen S. Henry Chair in Engineering, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and co-director of the UI Center for Global and Regional

Environmental Research, will receive the Perry L. McCarty/Founder's Award. The Founder's Award is given annually to recognize an environmental engineering and science professor who has made "sustained and outstanding contributions to environmental engineering education, research, and practice."
Gene Parkin, Donald E. Bently Professor of Engineering, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and director of the UI Center for Health Effects of Environmental Contamination, will be given the Charles R. O'Melia Distinguished Educator Award. The O'Melia award is given annually to recognize the significant contributions of Professor O'Melia to environmental engineering education and will be awarded to an environmental engineering or science professor who has a record of excellent teaching in the classroom and through graduate student advising; significant research achievements that have contributed to environmental engineering knowledge; and an outstanding record of influence through mentoring of former students and colleagues.

AEESP is made up of professors in academic programs throughout the world who provide education in the sciences and technologies of environmental protection. Founded in 1963 as a private nonprofit organization, AEESP has more than 800 members in universities throughout the world. The Association assists its members in improving education and research programs, encourages graduate education, and serves the profession by providing information to government agencies and the public, and provides direct benefits to its members.