Weber Named American Society of Civil Engineers Fellow

Jackie Stolze

Larry J. Weber, a professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Iowa (UI) and a research engineer at IIHR—Hydroscience & Engineering (IIHR), has been named a Fellow by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Board of Direction. Weber also holds the Edwin B. Green Chair in Hydraulics and recently served as executive associate dean of the UI College of Engineering.

Weber was the director of IIHR (a world-renowned research institute focused on research, education, and public service in hydraulic engineering and fluid mechanics) for 13 years and co-founded the Iowa Flood Center (IFC). He is also active in research and teaching. Weber’s research interests include fish passage facilities, laboratory hydraulic modeling, river mechanics, hydropower, computational hydraulics, ice mechanics, water quality, and watershed processes. Weber, an Iowa native, serves as primary investigator of the Iowa Watershed Approach, a $97 million HUD-funded statewide project that engages with Iowans to move toward a more flood-resilient state, while also improving water quality, creating new habitat, and improving the quality of life and health for citizens.

Weber has coauthored 63 peer-reviewed journal articles and has directed more than $170 million of externally supported research funded by federal, state, and private organizations. His awards and honors are many, including the ASCE Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award, the Iowa Board of Regents Faculty Excellence Award, and the Johnson County Heritage Trust Conservation Award for grassroots conservation efforts.

Weber serves the state of Iowa as a member of the Water Resources Coordinating Council, and he is also a member of numerous state and federal agency committees related to water resources planning. Weber frequently presents to community groups on water resources–related topics.

Weber holds BS, MS, and PhD degrees in civil and environmental engineering from the University of Iowa.